BSLS Book Prize

The British Society for Literature and Science is pleased to invite nominations for the annual BSLS Book Prize. The prize of £150, together with a year’s free membership of the BSLS, will be awarded for the best book published in English in 2011 in the field of literature and science. Monographs, edited volumes, editions and books of creative writing are all eligible for consideration, excepting books wholly or partly written by members of the BSLS executive.

Please send nominations, giving the author(s) or editor(s), title and publisher, to Dr John Holmes (book-prize convenor) at, with ‘BSLS Book Prize’ as the subject heading. The deadline for receipt of nominations is 16 January 2012.

* The book prize was launched in 2007. The past winners are Ralph O’Connor for ‘The Earth on Show: Fossils and the Poetics of Popular Science, 1802-1856′ (University of Chicago Press, 2007); George Levine for ‘Realism, Ethics and Secularism: Essays on Victorian Literature and Science’ (Cambridge University Press, 2008); Leah Knight for ‘Of Books and Botany in Early Modern England: Sixteenth-Century Plants and Print Culture’ (Ashgate, 2009); and Sally Shuttleworth for ‘The Mind of the Child: Child Development in Literature, Science, and Medicine, 1840-1900’ (Oxford University Press, 2010).

* Nominations are invited from BSLS members and from publishers. The authors or editors of the nominated books need not be BSLS members. BSLS members are welcome to nominate their own books.

* The book must have 2011 as its publication date.

* The winner of this year’s prize will be announced at the next annual conference of the BSLS in April 2012.

* The prize will be paid by means of a cheque made out in pounds sterling.